:: Projects ::
deutsch english
Index
Team
- Prof. Dr. Jochen Gebauer
- Dr. Jennifer Eck
- M.Sc. Tobias Ebert
- M.Sc. Theresa Entringer
- Dipl.-Psych. Andreas Nehrlich
Projects
Publications
Measures
Contact
Sociocultural Motives Perspective on Self & Personality
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Andrea E. Abele-Brehm,
Constantine Sedikides, Delroy L. Paulhus, & Mark R. Leary

Big Two personality (agency, communion) and Big Five personality (O[penness], E[xtraversion], A[greeableness], [C]onscientiousness, [N]euroticism) are most widely used personality factor models. The true value of these models hinges on their capacity to predict thought, feeling, and behaviour. Yet, personality psychologists have lamented that the effects of personality factors on their outcomes can grossly diverge across social contexts, posing a validity threat. However, such diversity need not be a threat if it follows theoretical predictions reflecting core features of personality factors. Unfortunately, relevant theories are scarce. Hence, in this application I seek to develop a theoretical perspective on why personality effects should diverge across social contexts: The social motives perspective (SMP). At the heart of the SMP lies the assumption that personality factors are linked to the social master motives for social conformity (swimming with the social tide) and social deviance (swimming against the social tide). Specifically, communion, A, and C are linked to the social conformity motive, whereas agency and O are linked to the social deviance motive. Hence, communion, A, and C should predict outcomes most strongly in social contexts where these outcomes are common, whereas agency and O should predict outcomes most strongly in social contexts where they are uncommon. Consider religiosity as one example. Religious life allows expression of communion, A, and C, which is why they have been described as the pan-cultural personality basis of religiosity. The validity of such expressiveness processes notwithstanding, the SMP makes different predictions. Given that communion, A, and C are linked to the social conformity motive, these personality factors should predict religiosity most strongly in religious social contexts and least strongly in secular social contexts. Further, given that agency and O are linked to the social deviance motive, these personality factors should predict religiosity least strongly in religious social contexts and most strongly in secular social contexts. In highly secular social contexts, then, agency and O may be the sole personality basis of religiosity, reversing classic expressiveness predictions. Our preliminary work supported the SMP regarding the Big Two and religiosity across 11 countries (N = 187,957) and the Big Five and religiosity across 66 countries (N = 1,129,334). Six work packages (WPs) will fully develop the SMP. WP1 will meta-analytically summarize crosscultural differences in personality effects and use the SMP to explain these differences. WP2 will evaluate the most relevant social context for social conformity and social deviance motives. WP3 will offer a first multi-wave longitudinal test. WP4 will provide first experimental evidence. WP5 will apply the SMP to revive the "prosocial personality." Finally, WP6 will result in a theoretical review of the SMP. Across the WPs, the SMP will explain diverse outcomes: other-profitable behaviour, partner preferences, political beliefs, occupational choice, drug abuse, consumer choice, and behaviour to reduce climate change, natural resource depletion, and social inequality. The goal is to establish SMP as a process-oriented, context-attentive, and motive-based theory of personality, which integrates key insights from social, self, motivational, and cultural psychology in order to reconcile discrepant personality effects across social contexts.

Fundingperiod: 10/2014 to 09/2019
Fundingbody: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG; GE 2515/3-1) (1.000.813,00€)
Self-Enhancement and Religiosity
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Constantine Sedikides, Delroy L. Paulhus, & Mark R. Leary

Self-enhancement and religiosity are central human phenomena. But how are the two related? World religions describe self-enhancement as something irreligious. They believe that religiosity lets self-enhancement run dry. If this were the case, one would have to doubt the existence of a universal need for self-esteem, because self-enhancement is self-esteem's most reliable expression. Thus, the topic of self-enhancement and religiosity is relevant for the much-debated universality question surrounding self-esteem. The topic is also relevant for the validity of many self-theories, which are based on the assumption that self-esteem and self-enhancement are human universals. Additionally, the topic informs about the suitability of much-discussed techniques to quite self-enhancement permanently. Our research program is the first to investigate the relation between self-enhancement and religiosity: (1) A large-scale cross-cultural analysis of religiosity and self-esteem relations (Gebauer, Sedikides, Bleidorn, Gosling, Rentfrow, & Potter, in prep) seeks further evidence of our Self-Enhancement Increases Religiosity (SEIR) model (Gebauer, Sedikides, & Neberich, 2012; Sedikides & Gebauer, 2010). (2) Experimental analogs of the aforementioned cross-cultural analysis seeks first causal evidence for the SEIR model. (3) A three-wave longitudinal study tests for a complementary effect of religiosity on self-enhancement in the religious domain and this study also seeks to establish religious self-enhancement as a process explaining established religiosity effects. The present research is therefore relevant for the universality of self-enhancement and its implications. The present research is also relevant for a key question of the psychology of religion: Why does religiosity persist?

Fundingperiod: 02/2013 to 01/2016
Fundingbody: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG; GE 2515/2-1) (222.564,00€)
Does True Altruism Exist?
What do Laypeople Believe and What Consequences does this Belief have?
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Constantine Sedikides, Mark R. Leary, & Jens B. Asendorpf

Does true Altruism exist, or is all human behavior egoistically motivated? Scientists disuss this question since Aristotel. Neither the philosophical querral between David Hume and Jeau Jaque Russeau, nor the experimental psychological debate between Robert Cialdini and Daniel Batson provided satisfactory answers regarding this altruism question. In this project we examine the laybelief in the existence of true altruism. That is, we ask laypeople to report on their belief in the existence of true altrusim. To this end, we have constructed the Belief in True Altruism Scale (BETA Scale). Using this measure we found thhat most people belief in the existence of true altruism. However, we also found important personality differences in the belief in true altruism, and these personality differences are related with actual behavior. For example, people who believe in the existence of true altruism are particularly helpful. Using experiments and longitudinal studies, we currently examine the processes, which drive this relation.

Fundingperiod: 09/2011 to 09/2013
Fundingbody: Wake Forest University & Templeton Foundation, Winston-Salem, NC ($103,125.10)
East-Asian Self-Enhancement
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Xuejun Lei, Huajian Cai, & Constantine Sedikides

Is self-enhancement (i.e., the desire for self-esteem) universal or merely a popular quirk of modern-day individuals? The answer to the universality question has several important implications. For example, it informs classic discussion on the content of a variety of psychological needs. Also, many psychological theories are based on the premise that humans desire self-esteem (e.g., cognitive dissonance theory, terror management theory, self-affirmation theory, social identity theory, the self-enhancement tactician model, and the self-evaluation maintenance model). Thus, the answer to the universality question informs the applicability of all these prominent psychological theories. How can the universality question be examined? Evidence for the universality of self-enhancement would be garnered, if self-enhancement can be found across all cultures. In East-Asian cultures, however, the empirical evidence is not clear. In this project, we develop new assessment tools, suitable to capture East-Asian self-enhancement. The results with these assessment tools show that East-Asians do self-enhance. Hence, self-enhancement appears to be a universal phenomenon.

Fundingperiod: 12/2010 to 12/2012
Fundingbody: Wolfgang Köhler Zentrum für Konfliktforschung (5,000 €)

:: Projekte ::
deutsch english
Index
Team
- Prof. Dr. Jochen Gebauer
- Dr. Jennifer Eck
- M.Sc. Tobias Ebert
- M.Sc. Theresa Entringer
- Dipl.-Psych. Andreas Nehrlich
Projekte
Publikationen
Messinstrumente
Psy.de (Online-Studien)
Kontakt
Sociocultural Motives Perspective on Self & Personality
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Andrea E. Abele-Brehm,
Constantine Sedikides, Delroy L. Paulhus, & Mark R. Leary

Die Big Two (A[gency], C[ommunion]) und die Big Five (O[ffenheit], E[xtraversion], V[erträglichkeit], G[ewissenhaftigkeit], N[eurotizismus]) sind die gebräuchlichsten Persönlichkeitsfaktormodelle. Ihr wahrer Wert bemisst sich daran, wie verlässlich sie Denken, Fühlen und Verhalten vorhersagen. Persönlichkeitsfaktoren weisen jedoch häufig inkonsistente Effekte in unterschiedlichen sozialen Kontexten auf. Dies wird oft als Zeichen mangelnder Validität bewertet. Solche Inkonsistenzen stellen allerdings nur dann ein Validitätsproblem dar, wenn sie aus den Eigenschaften der Persönlichkeitsfaktoren nicht theoretisch ableitbar sind. Daher wird eine theoretische Perspektive entwickelt, um aufzuzeigen, warum Persönlichkeitseffekte zwischen sozialen Kontexten variieren können und sogar sollen: Die sozial-motivationale Perspektive (SMP). Die SMP nimmt an, dass Persönlichkeitsfaktoren mit den sozialen Hauptmotiven nach Konformität (mit dem sozialen Strom schwimmen) und Abweichung (gegen den sozialen Strom schwimmen) einhergehen. Nach der SMP gehen C, V und G mit sozialer Konformität einher, während A und O mit sozialer Abweichung einhergehen. Demnach sagen C, V und G Außenkriterien besonders stark vorher, wenn letztere typisch für den sozialen Kontext sind, während A und O Außenkriterien besonders stark vorhersagen, wenn diese sozial untypisch sind. Am Außenkriterium Religiosität lässt sich dies verdeutlichen. Religiöses Leben erlaubt es C, V und G auszudrücken. Daher wurde allgemein angenommen, dass ausschließlich C, V und G die Persönlichkeitsbasis von Religiosität bilden. Nach der SMP hingegen sollten C, V und G Religiosität lediglich in religiösen Kontexten besonders stark vorhersagen, da Religiosität dort nicht nur zum Ausdruck dieser Persönlichkeitsfaktoren dient, sondern auch das mit C, V und G einhergehende soziale Konformitätsmotiv befriedigt. Dementsprechend sollten C, V und G Religiosität in säkularen Kontexten nur schwach vorhersagen. In diesen Kontexten hingegen sollte A und O Religiosität vergleichsweise stark vorhersagen, da Religiosität dort das mit A und O einhergehende soziale Abweichungsmotiv befriedigt. Eigene Vorarbeiten unterstützen diese Annahmen der SMP für die Big Two in 11 Ländern (N = 187.957) und die Big Five in 66 Ländern (N = 1.129.334). Sechs Arbeitspakete (APs) sollen die SMP voll entwickeln. AP1 metaanalysiert Kulturunterschiede zwischen Persönlichkeitseffekten und erklärt diese im Rahmen der SMP. AP2 untersucht, welcher soziale Kontext den entscheidenden Rahmen für soziale Konformität und Abweichung bildet. AP3 ist eine Längsschnittstudie. AP4 beinhaltet experimentelle Studien. AP5 nutzt die SMP, um die Vorhersagekraft der “prosozialen Persönlichkeit” wiederzubeleben. AP6 beschreibt die SMP in einem Übersichtsartikel. In den sechs APs dient die SMP zur Erklärung divergenter Außenkriterien: fremddienliches Verhalten, Partnerpräferenzen, politische Einstellungen, Berufswunsch, Rauchen und Trinken, Kaufentscheidungen und Verhalten zur Prävention von Klimawandel, natürlicher Ressourcenknappheit und sozialer Ungleichheit. Ziel ist es, die SMP als eine prozess-orientierte, motiv-basierte und kontext-sensitive Theorie der Persönlichkeit zu etablieren, die zentrale Erkenntnisse der Sozial-, Motivations-, und Kulturpsychologie integriert, um Diskrepanzen bezüglich Persönlichkeitseffekten in unterschiedlichen sozialen Kontexten theoriegeleitet zu erklären.

Förderungsdauer: 10/2014 bis 09/2019
Fördernde Institution: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG; GE 2515/3-1) (1.000.813,00€)
Selbstaufwertung und Religiosität
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Constantine Sedikides, Delroy L. Paulhus, & Mark R. Leary

Selbstaufwertung und Religiosität sind zentrale menschliche Phänomene. Doch wie sind diese beiden Phänomene miteinander verbunden? Weltreligionen beschreiben Selbstaufwertung als etwas Nicht-Religiöses. Sie glauben, dass Religiosität Selbstaufwertung versiegen lässt. Wäre dies der Fall, dann müsste man an der Existenz eines universellen Selbstwertbedürfnisses zweifeln, da Selbstaufwertung als Ausdruck von Selbstwertstreben gilt. Somit wird das Thema Selbstaufwertung und Religiosität relevant dafür, ob Selbstwert ein psychologisches Bedürfnis ist. Das Thema erlaubt zudem Rückschlüsse auf die Universalität vieler Selbstkonzepttheorien, die von einem Bedürfnis nach Selbstwert ausgehen. Außerdem liefert das Thema Informationen zur Tauglichkeit von Techniken zur Eindämmung von Selbstaufwertung. Unser Forschungsprogramm ist das Erste zu Selbstaufwertung und Religiosität: (1) Eine große interkulturelle Analyse zum Zusammenhang zwischen Religiosität und Selbstwert (Gebauer, Sedikides, Bleidorn, Gosling, Rentfrow, & Potter, in prep) soll das Self-Enhancement Increases Religiosity Modell (Gebauer, Sedikides, & Neberich, 2012; Sedikides & Gebauer, 2010) weiter validieren. (2) Experimentelle Entsprechungen dieser interkulturellen Analyse sollen die kausalen Annahmen des Modells testen. (3) Eine dreiwellige Längsschnittstudie soll einen komplementären Effekt von Religiosität auf religiöse Selbstaufwertung untersuchen und religiöse Selbstaufwertung als Prozess etablierter Religiositätseffekte testen. Diese Forschung ist somit relevant für die Universalität von Selbstaufwertung und deren Implikationen. Sie ist zudem relevant für eine Schlüsselfrage der Religionspsychologie: Warum ist Religiosität so weit verbreitet?

Förderungsdauer: 02/2013 bis 01/2016
Fördernde Institution: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG; GE 2515/2-1) (222.564,00€)
Existiert echter Altruismus?
Was glaubt die Bevölkerung und welche Konsequenzen hat dieser Glaube?
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Constantine Sedikides, Mark R. Leary, & Jens B. Asendorpf

Existiert echter Altruismus oder handeln alle Menschen schlussendlich immer egoistisch? Seit Aristoteles wird diese Frage in der Wissenschaft diskutiert. Weder der philosophische Schlagabtausch zwischen David Hume und Jean-Jacques Russeau noch die experimentalpsychologische Debatte zwischen Robert Cialdini und Daniel Batson konnte die Altruismusfrage zufriedenstellend klären. In diesem Projekt untersuchen wir den Alltagsglauben an die Existenz von echtem Altruismus. Das heißt, wir befragen die Allgemeinbevölkerung hinsichtlich ihres Glaubens an die Existenz von echtem Altruismus. Dazu haben wir ein diagnostisches Instrument entwickelt: Die "Belief in True Altruism Scale" (BETA Scale). Mithilfe dieses Instruments zeigt sich, dass die meisten Menschen an die Existenz von echtem Altruismus glauben. Dennoch zeigen sich auch wichtige Persönlichkeitsunterschiede, die mit Verhalten in Zusammenhang stehen. Zum Beispiel verhalten sich Menschen, die an die Existenz von echtem Altruismus glauben, hilfsbereiter als Menschen, die nicht an die Existenz von echtem Altruismus glauben. Mithilfe von Experimenten und Längsschnittstudien untersuchen wir momentan die Prozesse, die diesem Zusammenhang zugrundeliegen.

Förderungsdauer: 09/2011 bis 09/2013
Fördernde Institution: Wake Forest University & Templeton Foundation, Winston-Salem, NC ($103.125,10)
Selbstaufwertung in Ost-Asien
Jochen E. Gebauer (PI), Xuejun Lei, Huajian Cai, & Constantine Sedikides

Ist Selbstaufwertung universell oder lediglich eine liebgewonnene Marotte der meisten modernen Menschen? Die Antwort auf die Universalitätsfrage birgt wichtige Implikationen. Sie ist relevant für die klassische Diskussion über den Inhalt von psychologischen Bedürfniskompendien. Außerdem basieren viele psychologische Theorien auf der Annahme, dass Selbstaufwertung der Ausdruck von Selbstwertstreben ist und Selbstwertstreben ein universelles psychologisches Bedürfnis darstellt (Cognitive Dissonance Theory, Terror Management Theory, Self-Affirmation Theory, Social Identity Theory, Self-Enhancement Tactician Model, Self-Evaluation Maintenance Model). Entsprechend gibt die Antwort auf die Universalitätsfrage Aufschluss über die Generalisierbarkeit dieser Theorien. Wie lässt sich die Universalitätsfrage klären? Es wäre Evidenz für die Universalität von Selbstaufwertung, wenn in jeder Kultur Selbstaufwertung zu finden wäre. In Ostasiatischen Kulturen jedoch ist die Datenlage nicht eindeutig. In diesem Projekt entwickeln wir daher neue Instrumente zur Erfassung von Selbstaufwertung in Ost-Asien. Die Ergebnisse mit diesen Messinstrumenten zeigen, dass Ost-Asiaten durchaus Selbstaufwertung betreiben. Selbstaufwertung scheint also ein universelles Phänomen zu sein.

Förderungsdauer: 12/2010 bis 12/2012
Fördernde Institution: Wolfgang Köhler Zentrum für Konfliktforschung (5.000 €)